Yahweh Yireh

December 14, 2011


I stood by the car door and watched my old landlord struggle with his burden across the street. It was still raining and the Christmas lights strung up on the businesses reflected on the puddles as he pulled the bag toward the parking lot. The bag had torn a bit from being dragged on the concrete and a plume of crimson trailed out as he worked his way down the sidewalk. The little red trail diluted in the rain with each pull as he coaxed it along in the pre-dawn minutes.

I couldn’t help but smile as I watched him. Usually around Christmas it’s snowing and miserable here. 50 degrees and rain at 5:30 am is a nice break.

“Getting rid of another one?”

Traffic was light on the street, so I didn’t have to shout very loud to be heard over the soft rain.

He stopped and looked around. Then he squinted and looked across the street. Still not recognizing me, he took off his glasses and wiped them with his scarf.

“Who’s that?”

“I thought you were done with that stuff since you retired.”

He put his glasses back on and squinted down his nose toward me. He pulled his upper lip back and made a face like he just took a bite of rancid asparagus. Then he finally figured out who I was.

“WHOTHEHELLAREYOUTOBETHEHELLOUTOFMEYOUNOGOODDIRTYROTTENSUMBITCHWHYDONTCHAJUSTGETTHEHELL
HELLOUTAHEREANDJUSTLEAVEMEALONENOONEISBOTHERINGYOUYOUBASTARDWHYDONCHAMINDYOUROWNBUSINESSFOR
CHRISTSAKEANDLEAVEMEALONEIDONTHAVETIMETODEALWITHYOUIGOTTAFINISHWITHTHISBASTARDANDFINISHPUT
TINGUPCHRISTMASDECORATIONSNOWGETTHEHELLOUTAHEREYOUYOUNOGODDDIRTYROTTENGODDAMSUMBITCH
BEFOREIGIVE. . .”

I waved him off, “Merry Christmas” I said as I got into the car.

“MERRYCHRISTMASYOURASSYOUASSH. . .” I heard as I shut the Volvo door. I looked through the window and waved at him as he now silently kept chewing me out and pulled too hard on the black plastic bag. The bag ripped and the body rolled out to lie flat on the sidewalk. He was screaming and waving his arms in the early morning light as I pulled away and popped a cd into the player. The Volvo has been a pretty good car for us. Sure, it’s more expensive to fix when things break, but it rarely breaks.

Over the years, I have learned to appreciate imports that are better than what we can get domestically. I think I first learned it in high school – on my first day. John Keenan was my first homeroom teacher in 9th grade. The school I went to was fairly prestigious and has a remarkable history. Mr. Keenan was it’s biggest advocate over the years. He was a short, intense Irishman who expected excellence and would not accept anything less. He was working with an electronic calculator (back then they were incredibly expensive and probably still in “beta”) and the instrument was not working properly. He was trying to help a student understand his grades from the previous semester and they were looking at average scores. The calculator was not cooperative. He walked it over to the round metal trash can in front of where I was sitting and slam-dunked the entire thing into the empty receptacle. He looked at me and admonished me to never by anything American. “It’s crap, all cheap crap. We don’t make anything worth a damn anymore.” Well, it was 1976. People were driving Vega’s, Pinto’s, and my favorite – Gremlins.

At the time he was right. I learned a lot from him and people like him over the years.

He, and many of the other teachers I knew at that school as well as at the colleges I attended had a mindset in common. “Work hard and you will be successful.” The ones that advocated this philosophy backed up what they said in the courses at grading time. I learned that if I worked hard in the class, I would earn a good grade – and I usually did. When I didn’t work hard in the class, I never earned a grade worth mentioning. We didn’t get participation medals.

Ben Franklin is credited with saying something to the effect of: “The harder I work, the luckier I get.”. I had no reason to believe otherwise because it was all reinforced with good grades, I believed what I learned in school until I entered the real working and business world – especially as an entrepreneur. My fancy high school and my college “book learning” didn’t prepare me for the reality of the workplace. It didn’t prepare me for union rules and certainly not for ex-communist Euro-trash supervisors, backstabbers, manipulators, or even dealing with the public in general. I did not realize that most people foolishly or blindly take the easiest route rather than looking at the long-term consequences of their decisions.

Most, but not all.

Sometimes the damnedest things happen. A painting sells off the wall, a call or an email come out of nowhere. A project comes together. A lucky break happens. A plan falls into place against all odds. A dog gets adopted from a shelter. A ten dollar bill is laying on the sidewalk . . . .

Being a good German-Irish Catholic, I had no explanation for this phenomenon because all that people like me know really well is schadenfreude and revenge. Admirable and handy traits to be sure, but how to explain “the harder I work, the luckier I get” thing?

When I fail at something or if something unsavory happens, I can usually point to some mistake or error – usually on my part. If that doesn’t work, then there is usually some scientific reason – bad timing, poor planning, a flawed hypothesis, or just lousy protoplasm.

It’s in our collective history. It happens to everyone. Any religion, any sect. Atheist or not. Sometimes if we just work hard, work smart, and stay focused – the answer is outside of our influence. Sometimes the answer is “no” and sometimes “yes”.

I recently learned an old Jewish saying: “Yahweh Yireh”. I understand that literally it means “God will see to it.”. It apparently started way back in the day with Abraham and explains what is really outside of our control.

“Yahweh Yireh” seems especially appropriate if not poignant at this Christmas time. It’s a nice Christmas present. Times are tough. Life is a bitch and it apparently is supposed to be. Don’t “occupy” anything – work hard, work smart, and notice the gifts. Use stronger trash bags too.

It’ll get better for artists like you and me.

Yahweh Yireh and Merry Christmas.

 Like This!

JohnStillmunks.com

13 Responses to “Yahweh Yireh”

  1. Thanks, Munks.

    Have a grand holiday.

    I’m looking forward to my first show in February in Arizona. I’ve been working really really hard, can;t believe how lucky I;ve gotten in the last month! 🙂

    Bo

  2. A refreshingly written reminder…Thanks John.

    Be present it the moment.

    Cheers,
    Lynda

  3. Thanks for painting a great story, Munks, and Merry Christmas!! Hehe, i’ll blame lousy protoplasm next time troubleshooting renders nada.
    Christina

  4. barrybern said

    I laugh every time I read something of yours because the first time I read something, I thought: “WHAT AN ASSHOLE!!” Since then, I have come to know you and think you are a fantastic person, someone I am glad to call a friend. So, Merry Christmas and have a great coming year.

    I believe there is very little correlation between hard work and luck. If there is, it’s because with hard work, or action, one creates greater opportunity to be lucky.

    I have a couple of friends, who, in the course of that friendship, became born-agains. And, no, I didn’t drive them to it. And, in both cases, they became enamored with the Jewish religion and decided to learn a little Hebrew. That would be fine except they learned the words, phonetically, in English, not the actual Hebrew. In trying to explain to me what words of phrases they learned, I had no idea what they were saying because they were butchering the language. I liked the effort though and quickly game the correct pronunciation of what they were trying to say. Now, I had heard the term Yahweh, and I knew that Christians used it to refer to God, but, “Yahweh Yireh” is something I had never heard before. So… I googled it. Yireh is a word, but, there is no Yahweh. There is something about not writing the word God, even Jews in English use the term G-d. Of course, I can because God is English and not Hebrew, so, it isn’t like writing the actual word. In Hebrew, the word is Adonai, but, it is never written in Hebrew. It is written with Hebrew letters that would be pronounced Yaweh, if one actually phonetically sounded out the letters. Of course, in Hebrew and when saying the prayers in Hebrew, nobody says Yahweh, they say Adonai. I guess the Christians never got the message.

    I had this girlfriend for a long time who came from an Orthodox Jewish family, and they would always use the term, and this is the slurred pronunciation, “ha mertz HaShem.” which means God willing. HaShem is another word for God. There are many of them in the Hebrew language. The literal translation is The One.

    • Thanks Barry. Give me ten minutes and I can find several people who are completely in agreement with your first assessment. I have waffled back and forth on that subject myself.

      Actually I did not find “Yahweh” right away. I think the actual first phrase was “Jehovah something or other” and I asked around a bit more to learn the variation. I chose the “Yahweh” flavor because it is more familiar and less confusing to gentiles who would think I was talking about Jehovah’s Witnesses. I am convinced God must have quite a sense of humor. Have a great holiday as well. Don’t freeze up there!

  5. Love this article, Munks. It’s a good reminder in a season where hope is sometimes in short supply, as well as luck! I’ve been working really hard, at painting as well as being present and have sold 3 paintings this month. I’m pretty jazzed. It’s definitely a start.

  6. Now that the protesters are Man of the Year, I will submit that Yahweh rarely sees to it. Do it yourself if you want the job done because Yahweh is busy smoking cigars at a poker table somewhere up in the sky. The chips fall where they will….

  7. oh! I forgot the mention that while on first shift, Yahweh did invent latkes. That was important.

  8. lorie said

    So good, I read it twice

    “the harder I work, the luckier I get”

    I thought about this statement yesterday as I was hard at work, not sure I was believing it. I know a few lazy asses that seem to be lucky, financially anyway, but then again they’re still A holes so maybe they’re not so lucky afterall.
    Conversely, can it not be said , the unluckier you are the harder you have to work, just to survive. So there does seem to be some sort of correlation between hard work and luck, eitherway hard work is a part of life ,so if you are not enjoying your work, life’s a bitch.

    I guess that makes all of us working artists the lucky ones.

    “coincidence is god’s way of remaining anonymous”
    Albert Einstein

    Knowing how and when to use a coincidence to create an opportunity is, a lucky break.

    Cheers! to the never mediocre & a Merry Christmas to all

  9. lorie said

    Pardon my manners from above

    Happy Hanukkah to Barry and all who celebrate

  10. Percy said

    You post interesting content here. Your website deserves much more visitors.
    It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know useful tool
    that can help you, simply type in google: svetsern traffic tips

Leave a comment